Manage Your Goals Like A Business

If you want a company to run in the best conditions, there are multiple variables that you have to manage. You have to notice the most performing workers as well as those who would need more attention or training. It’s important to acquire new resources in order to develop, as well as separate from the people or resources when they’re not adequate to the goals anymore. All of this require a thoroughful analysis.

Today, we’ll do an analogy between a company and yourself, in order to think about how you manage your personal goals. We’ll imagine that you’re a business and that your goal isn’t profit or the development of new products, but your happiness, your personal and professional development, etc. You’re in the position of the Human Resources Director and you’ll have to perform a detailed analysis of your « company » in order to find your goals and the resources to acquire, in 4 steps.

My goals

The first step of the analysis is the definition of your goals. What is the purpose of your « company » ? Is it to increase your happiness, get a new job, travel around the world or find love? Define between one and three goals before going to the next step. Let’s take for example that you’d like to get a new job.

Create my team

No matter what you did, you already have numerous « employees » that have been more or less efficient or useful in the past. Stop for a few minutes to think about who are your best « employees ». You’ll have to highlight your resources and skills related to your goal. Let’s say that for getting your ideal job, you already possess many skills: you’re at ease in social interactions, have technical skills, experiences in project management, etc. Write down your main abilities in order to know who you’ll keep in your « team ».

In your team, you probably have useful « employees » that would need to level up with some additional training. They represent loyal employees that only need to update their skills and knowledge. Define which one of your employees need a little refresh. This could be for example your computer knowledge, in technical processes, or in communication techniques. Once you identified those « employees », you can decide what kind of training they need to follow in order to be updated.

Recruitment

You now have a team formed by employees who give perfect satisfaction and others that you prepared for additional training.

Your goal is to get a new job, and for that you’ll maybe need to hire new external resources with whom you’ve never « worked » before. Ask yourself what kind of skills you need to acquire that you never had in your « team ». You’ll maybe need to learn a new language, accounting or management skills. Once you identified the required « collaborators », become a « head hunter » and find the « workers » that you need. In order to find them, you’ll maybe decide to register to a new course, find a mentor or get some books to learn by yourself.

The dismissal

You now have a team formed by old loyal employees, some of them in whom you invested to develop their skills as well as new workers bringing fresh resources. Congratulations! The last step in order to have a team capable of reaching your goal is to analyse who are the « employees » that prevent you from reaching your goal. Who are the « members » of your team that prevented you from going forward until now? Be honest with yourself and identify them precisely. This will maybe be a lack of confidence in your abilities, inadequate communication skills with your colleagues, a pessimistic mindset or the fact that you don’t act according to your values. Once you identified these obstacles, fire them in order to keep a healthy « team ».

Conclusion

You got it, you are your own « company » and it’s very important to pay attention to the quality of your « team » if you don’t want to go « bankrupt ». Think as a HRD by analyzing what are the skills and resources that you already possess, those that you need to develop or maintain, the ones that you’ll have to acquire and finally, identify the negative aspects and « flaws » from which you need to separate yourself.

You want to be updated on my articles and other activities? Join my newsletter or my Facebook page! If you want to book a coaching in order to set your goals and find useful strategies and solutions to reach them, contact me directly through this form.

Julien Borloz

Julien

Julien

2 comments

  1. Julien , great analogy the thing that has me thinking is I would like my success and abundance to be flowing on auto-drive like a business with minimal boss interaction just delegate. Great for sharing this knowledge.

    1. Great, thanks for your comment! Well it’s a very good idea to search how you can free your time by automatizing your tasks. Where and how can you save time? Can you delegate or automatize some of your daily tasks/chores (bills, cleaning, etc)? Can you free some of your “brain space” by adopting habits/routine in order to prevent you to think about daily unimportant stuffs? Here are a few questions to think about 🙂

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Gérez Vos Objectifs Comme Une Entreprise

Coaching Développement Personnel Exercices Pratiques Réussite Travail

Gérez Vos Objectifs Comme Une Entreprise

Gérez Vos Objectifs Comme Une Entreprise

Pour qu’une entreprise fonctionne dans les meilleures conditions, une multitude de variables doivent être suivies de près. Il faut être attentif aux employés les plus performants, comme identifier ceux qui auraient besoin de plus d’attention ou de formation. Il est important de savoir engager de nouvelles ressources pour se développer, comme de se séparer de personnes ou de ressources lorsqu’ils ne sont plus adaptés aux objectifs. Tout ceci nécessite un processus d’analyse minutieux.

Je vous propose aujourd’hui de faire une analogie entre une entreprise et vous-même, afin de réfléchir à la gestion de vos objectifs personnels. Nous allons imaginer que vous êtes une entreprise et que votre objectif n’est pas le profit ou le développement de nouveaux produits, mais votre bonheur, votre développement personnel, professionnel, etc. Vous êtes dans la position du DRH et allez devoir mener une analyse détaillée afin de cibler vos objectifs et les ressources à mettre en oeuvre pour les atteindre, et ce en 4 étapes.

 

Mes objectifs

La première étape de l’analyse est de définir vos objectifs. Quel est le but de votre « entreprise » ? Est-ce d’augmenter votre bonheur, de décrocher un nouvel emploi, de voyager autour du monde ou de rencontrer l’amour? Définissez entre un et trois objectifs, puis passez à l’étape suivante. Prenons comme exemple d’objectif l’obtention d’un nouvel emploi.

Former mon équipe

Peu importe votre parcours, vous possédez de nombreux « employés » qui ont été plus ou moins performants et utiles par le passé. Arrêtez-vous quelques minutes pour réfléchir à qui sont vos meilleurs « employés ». Il s’agit donc de ressortir vos ressources et compétences liées à votre objectif. Admettons que pour obtenir votre emploi de rêve, vous possédez déjà plusieurs compétences: une facilité de contact avec les autres, des connaissances techniques, des expériences en gestion de projet, etc. Notez vos compétences les plus importantes afin de connaître qui vous garderez dans votre « équipe ».

Dans votre équipe, vous avez peut-être des « employés » qui sont utiles, mais qui mériteraient une remise à niveau. Ils représentent des employés loyaux à votre entreprise mais qui auraient besoin de formation continue pour remettre leurs connaissances à jour. Définissez lesquels de vos employés nécessitent un petit cours de rattrapage. Cela pourrait par exemple être vos connaissances en informatique, dans certains procédés techniques, ou dans des techniques de communication. Une fois ces « employés » identifiés, décidez des formations à suivre afin de les remettre à niveau.

Le recrutement

Vous avez à présent une équipe formée d’employés donnant parfaite satisfaction et d’autres que vous avez envoyé en formation continue.

Votre objectif étant d’obtenir un nouvel emploi, vous aurez peut-être besoin d’engager des ressources externes avec qui vous n’avez encore jamais collaboré. Demandez-vous quelles ressources vous avez besoin d’acquérir que vous n’avez jamais eu dans votre « équipe ». Vous aurez peut-être besoin d’apprendre une nouvelle langue, des connaissances en comptabilité, en management. Une fois les « collaborateurs » nécessaires identifiés, transformez-vous en « chasseur de tête » et partez à la recherche de ces « employés » dont vous avez besoin. Pour les dénicher, vous déciderez alors peut-être de vous inscrire à un cours, de trouver un mentor ou de vous plonger dans de nouvelles lectures.

Le licenciement

Vous avez à présent une équipe d’anciens employés fidèles, de certains dans lesquels vous avez décidé d’investir pour développer leurs compétences ainsi que de nouveaux employés apportant des ressources jusqu’à présent jamais utilisées. Bravo! La dernière étape pour avoir une équipe prête à atteindre votre objectif est d’analyser quels sont vos « employés » qui vous empêchent d’atteindre votre but. Quels sont les « membres » de votre équipe qui vous ont empêché d’avancer jusqu’à présent? Soyez honnête avec vous-même et identifiez-les précisément. Cela sera peut-être le manque de confiance dans vos compétences, un mode de communication inadéquat avec vos collègues, un état d’esprit pessimiste ou le fait de ne pas agir en direction de vos valeurs. Une fois ces obstacles identifiés, décidez de vous en séparer afin de garder une équipe saine et compétente.

Conclusion

Vous l’aurez compris, vous êtes votre propre « entreprise » et il est important de prêter attention à la qualité de votre « équipe » afin que vous ne fassiez pas « faillite ». Réfléchissez comme un DRH en analysant quelles sont les compétences et ressources que vous possédez déjà, celles que vous devez développer et entretenir, celles que vous devrez acquérir et pour finir, identifier les points négatifs et « défauts » dont vous devez vous séparer.

Vous souhaitez suivre mes articles? Rejoignez ma newsletter ou ma page Facebook. Si vous souhaitez réserver un coaching afin de définir vos objectifs et de trouver des stratégies et solutions pour l’atteindre, contactez-moi directement via ce formulaire.

Julien Borloz

Julien

Julien

2 comments

  1. Julien , great analogy the thing that has me thinking is I would like my success and abundance to be flowing on auto-drive like a business with minimal boss interaction just delegate. Great for sharing this knowledge.

    1. Great, thanks for your comment! Well it’s a very good idea to search how you can free your time by automatizing your tasks. Where and how can you save time? Can you delegate or automatize some of your daily tasks/chores (bills, cleaning, etc)? Can you free some of your « brain space » by adopting habits/routine in order to prevent you to think about daily unimportant stuffs? Here are a few questions to think about 🙂

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.